Market review into the supply of card-acquiring services

Last updated: 26 January 2022

We have been carrying out a market review into the supply of card-acquiring services and on this page, you will find links to the information we publish about this review.

Card payments are critical to the smooth running of the UK economy. They are a popular way for people to pay for goods and services, and their use is growing.

For merchants to accept card payments, they need to buy card-acquiring services. The costs of these services may ultimately be reflected in the prices and services they offer to their customers.

We have been carrying out a market review into card-acquiring services following concerns that the supply of these services may not be working well for merchants, and ultimately consumers.

We published the draft terms of reference for our work in July 2018. We published final terms of reference in January 2019 taking account of the feedback we received.

On 15 September 2020, we published our interim report on the supply of card-acquiring services which shows that merchants could make savings by shopping around and either switching or negotiating with their current provider – but many small and medium ones don’t.

On 3 November 2021, we published our final report on the supply of card-acquiring services.

On 26 January 2022, we published our initial remedies consultation for the card-acquiring market review.

On this page, you will find helpful links to documents and announcements associated with this market review.

Final report

Our final report on the supply of card-acquiring services - published 3 November 2021

Consultation documents

Our consultation document on the draft terms of reference - published 24 July 2018

Our consultation document on our proposed pass through analysis - published 8 February 2019

Our consultation document on the approach to the merchant survey - published 22 May 2019

Our consultation document on our merchant survey questionnaire - published 5 July 2019

Our consultation document on our profitability analysis - published 11 July 2019

Pass-through disclosure in the market review into card-acquiring services - published 14 September 2020

Draft undertakings for the confidentiality ring used for pass-through disclosure - published 14 September 2020

Our market review into the supply of card-acquiring services: Interim report - published 15 September 2020

Merchant survey disclosure in the market review into card-acquiring services - published 27 November 2020

Our initial remedies consultation document for the card-acquiring market review - published 26 January 2022

Responses to consultations

Responses to draft terms of reference - published 24 January 2019

Responses to proposed pass-through analysis - published 20 June 2019

Responses to proposed merchant survey - published 30 September 2019